Recommended LiPo Car?

I’m interested in building a Donkey Car. I hear the sombrero can make a build easier but requires a LiPo battery. Is there a suggested donor car that uses one already?

Most of the medium-end RC cars/trucks come with LiPo batteries and they will most likely have the required RC steering servo and RC speed controller(ESC). I believe the docs spell out the things to look for when searching for an RC chassis.

http://docs.donkeycar.com/guide/build_hardware/#overview

Thanks Doug. I’m new to RC, maybe that’s why I’m not clear on what makes a car suited or not. But the list of supported vehicles is appreciated.

No worries, we’re all here to learn about stuff right? :slight_smile:

This video explains a lot and shows the basic components of an RC vehicle easiest to use with the donkey framework. RC Transmitter/Receiver type with separate RC Servo(steering) and RC ESC(electronic speed controller). note: the 3 wire control signal cable from the RC ESC also provides 5-6V on the red/black wires and this is used to power the RC Receiver and provide power for the RC Servo.

They donkey framework is designed to work with cars having the RC Servo and RC ESC. Some cheaper vehicles will combine electronics into one box( integrated ESC ) so the Servo has 5 wires and there is no 3-wire ESC control cable.

Thanks for the video. I have a feeling I’ll be spending a lot of time watching that channel :slightly_smiling_face:

I need to save that link to pass onto others as often we get people with various gaps in skills and that does a good job at filling the ‘what really is the RC control parts’ needs.

Speaking of this, what is your background? Do you have experience in software development, hardware development, electronic control, or Linux experience?